Canyon Lake is a gated community in Riverside County, California, United States. One of only five gated cities in California, Canyon Lake began as a master-planned community developed by Corona Land Company in 1968. The “City of Canyon Lake” was incorporated on December 1, 1990. It geographically spans 4.7 square miles . The Lake was originally formed in 1927 after Railroad Canyon Dam was built.
If Canyon Lake had to be described in one word, that word would be unique. One of only five gated cities in California, Canyon Lake began as a master-planned community developed by Corona Land Company in 1968. The Lake originally was formed in 1927 after Railroad Canyon Dam was built. It covers 383 acres and has 14.9 miles of shoreline. The “City of Canyon Lake” was incorporated on December 1, 1990. The City has a population of 10,647 and geographically spans 4.6 square miles.
Canyon lake is located in Riverside County, which offers a growing job base, newly built designer homes and great schools.
Source: Wikipedia and cityofcanyonlake.com
View the Canyon Lake Real Estate Page
Fallbrook is an unincorporated community in northern San Diego County, California. The Fallbrook census-designated place (CDP) population was 29,100 at the 2000 census.
Fallbrook’s downtown is not on any major highway route. It is 6 miles west of Interstate 15 or 5 miles (8.0 km) north of State Route 76. Fallbrook is situated immediately east of the U.S. Marine Corps’ Camp Pendleton. It once housed a stagecoach stop for the stage that ran from Temecula to San Diego.
Fallbrook is known for its avocado groves and claims the title “Avocado Capital of the World.” It is often called or known as “The Friendly Village.” The Avocado Festival is held in the downtown strip annually and frequently draws large crowds.
The gem of North San Diego County, the greater Fallbrook/Bonsall area is recognized for its beauty, rarity and multi-faceted personality. Young adults that have grown up here will tell you that these villages, carefully nestled in rolling hills a mere twenty-five minutes from the Pacific Ocean, are more than just towns – they are a way of life, a culture, that emits a sense of community that is held forever in their hearts, a precious keepsake. Comprised of residents who interact and connect on many different levels, like multiple sparkling jewels woven into an intricate design, the area has an unrivaled bounty that provides a high quality of life.
Source: Wikipedia and fallbrook.org
View the Fallbrook Real Estate Page
Lake Elsinore: Native Americans have long lived in the area. The Luiseño were the earliest known inhabitants. Their pictographs can be found on rocks on the Santa Ana Mountains and in Temescal Valley and artifacts have been found all around Lake Elsinore and in the local canyons and hills.
In the 1920s Elsinore became a resort for the rich and the glamorous from Hollywood and also hosted teams for Olympic training and for high speed boat racing. The lake went dry in the mid 1930s but refilled by 1938. During World War Two the lake was used to test seaplanes and a Douglas Aircraft plant making wing assemblies for B-17 bombers was located in the city.
Despite its relatively small African-American population, it has the distinction of electing the first black mayor in the state of California. Tom Yarborough was elected in 1966, three years before Douglas Dollarhide became the mayor of Compton.
Rapid population growth altered the appearance and image of Lake Elsinore from a small lakeside town of 3,800 people in 1976 to a bedroom community of upper middle-class professionals. The city and its sphere of influence now has over 38,000 residents as of 2006 and formerly open hillsides have been converted into housing tracts.
One of the first outlet shopping malls in California was established in northwestern Lake Elsinore in the late 1990s on Collier Road at Nichols Road, just off Interstate 15; the mall now has its own automobile dealership. The mall has a wide variety of retailers, encompassing clothing and shoe stores, eateries, bookstores, perfumeries, home and garden boutiques, and electronics stores.
The City’s Visitors Bureau has also been making efforts to expand tourism in the area. Quality Inn, Best Western, and Holiday Inn Express hotels have recently been built within the city limits to accommodate tourists who attend the city’s various events and enjoy the picturesque lake. Also Lake Elsinore Hotel & Casino has recently been remodeled to accommodate the growing need for hotel space in the region.
View the Lake Elsinore Real Estate Page
The area was originally inhabited by the Luiseno and Pechanga Indian tribes. In the 18th century, the area fell under Spanish rule and was ceded by Mexico to the United States in 1850 as a result of the Mexican-American War.
Farming, which began in the mid-19th century, was concentrated in the Menifee area. Mining began in the early 1880s with the discovery of a significant quartz lode by miner Luther Menifee Wilson, from which Menifee derived its name.
Early development of the City of Menifee began with Sun City in the early 1960s as the concept of an active retirement community was envisioned by Del Webb, a building contractor from Phoenix, Arizona. Sun City is centrally located within the City of Menifee with a mix of residential and commercial activity.
The Menifee area later grew during the late 1980s and into the early 1990s as a master-planned community. However, due to lack of resources such as industry-oriented occupations, and high-density retail and commercial businesses; has made many residents drive longer distances such as Temecula or Murrieta, to shop, dine, and work. There has been substantial growth in Menifee with many new home construction with large lakes, and fine amenities have attracted a lot of residents from the Inland Empire and Los Angeles to live.
View the Menifee Real Estate Page
For most of its history Murrieta was not heavily populated. Its gently rolling hills dotted with native trees (such as the now-threatened Engelmann Oak) encouraged a Spaniard named Esequial Murrieta to purchase the Rancho Pauba and Rancho Temecula Mexican land grants, comprising 52,000 acres in the area, intending to bring his sheep raising business to California. Instead, he returned to Spain and turned the land over to his younger brother, Juan Murrieta (1844–1936), who brought 100,000 sheep to the valley in 1873. Using the ample meadows to feed his sheep.
Murrieta is well-known for year-round pleasant weather
Murrieta has a Mulligan Family Fun Center, with miniature golf, go kart racing, lazer tag, and an arcade. A movie theater and additional go kart track, Pole Position, also offer additional entertainment options in the city. Annually, both Murrieta and neighboring Temecula share the Rod Run, a classic car event where classic car owners and enthusiasts can showcase and enjoy hundreds of classic cars.
Outside the city limits there are the Santa Rosa Plateau, Temecula Valley Wine Country, and Lake Skinner. The Santa Rosa Plateau, an ecological reserve which is jointly owned by county and state governments, a private conservation group, and the local water district, is just outside the city to the west. Visitors can observe endangered wildlife, both flora and fauna (including the threatened Engleman Oak). Temecula Valley Wine Country is located approximately 10 miles southeast of Murrieta, and has over 30 wineries. Lake Skinner offers sailing, fishing, swimming, horseback riding, hiking, and developed campsites. The lake hosts the annual Temecula Valley Balloon & Wine Festival, with live entertainment, hot air balloon rides, and wine tasting.
View the Murrieta Real Estate Page
Perris is a city in Riverside County, California, USA. At the 2000 census, the city population was 46,600. The city is named in honor of Fred T. Perris, chief engineer of the California Southern Railroad. The California Southern was built through the future town site in 1882 to build a rail connection between the present day cities of Barstow and San Diego. Due to a land title dispute at Pinacate, most of its citizens moved two miles north on the railroad and established Perris in 1885. The city was incorporated in 1911.
Perris now incorporates Pinacate Station which is the home of the Orange Empire Railway Museum (a.k.a “the trolley museum”) – the largest operating museum of its kind on the West Coast of the United States.
On March 20, 2007, Perris was featured on ABC’s Nightline news show during its “Realty Check” segment. The story dealt with the rising trend of home foreclosures in Riverside County, and Perris was referred to as the “epicenter”. The story then dealt primarily with the city of Perris.
The “Farmer Boys” restaurant chain was started in Perris in 1981.
Perris is also known for the Rock Castle house set on a hill above town.
View the Perris Real Estate Page
Wildomar, CA offers small-town charm with easy access to shopping, cultural activities, entertainment and recreation. Located in the heart of Southern California’s rapidly-growing Inland Empire, Wildomar is a naturally scenic region and offers an excellent geographic proximity to the Los Angeles, Orange, Inland Empire and San Diego markets.
In the summer of 1880 when, looking down from the peak of Mr. Baldy, Franklin Heald of Pasadena first noticed Lake Elsinore, then known as La Laguna. A few months later, in October, Mr. Frank Kimbal of San Diego signed an agreement with the Atchison, Topeka, and Santa Fe Railroad to build a rail line past the lake from San Diego to Barstow, then known as Waterman.
Welcome to Wildomar, one of California’s most recently incorporated cities — where natural beauty and a feisty spirit give rise every day to the optimism leading it to a future unlimited.
View the Wildomar Real Estate Page
Winchester: Largely rural for most of its history, and home to agricultural businesses including the Winchester Cheese Company, Winchester experienced rapid growth during the housing construction boom in the early to mid 2000s.
Winchester is the second oldest community in what is known as the San Jacinto Valley. Settlers arrived to what they would call Pleasant Valley in 1879. In 1886, the town site was plotted. The community also has a fine elementary school that has been located at the same site since the early 1890’s.